Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

This award is presented to a radio or television journalist or news executive who has made a major contribution to the protection of First Amendment freedoms. It is named for the late Broadcasting & Cable senior correspondent, Leonard Zeidenberg.

David Muir, ABC News

A past RTDNF Scholarship Recipient, ABC World News Tonight Anchor David Muir delivers exceptional journalism with his own dispatches from Afghanistan, Iraq, Iran, Beirut, Mogadishu and Tahrir Square among countless other global hotspots. Muir has been recognized with numerous Edward R. Murrow Awards.

David Muir

Muir is an Emmy-award winning journalist for ABC News. He is the anchor and managing editor of ABC World News Tonight with David Muir and co-anchor of ABC’s 20/20. For more than a decade, Muir has reported from international hotspots around the world including Tehran, Gaza and Fukushima. Muir’s exclusive interviews generate global headlines. Muir joined the ABC World News Tonight newscast in 2014 after working in various roles at ABC since 2003, including anchor of World News Now, World News this Morning and other newscasts. Prior to joining ABC News, Muir distinguished himself as an award-winning anchor and correspondent for WCVB-TV in Boston. While in Boston, Muir was part of the team that received the regional Edward R. Murrow Award for investigative reporting and Associated Press honors for his work tracing the path of the September 11th hijackers.

Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

Updated on 2020-03-19T13:56:53+00:00, by firstawards.