Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

David Muir, ABC News

A past RTDNF Scholarship Recipient, ABC World News Tonight Anchor David Muir delivers exceptional journalism with his own dispatches from Afghanistan, Iraq, Iran, Beirut, Mogadishu and Tahrir Square among countless other global hotspots. Muir has been recognized with numerous Edward R. Murrow Awards.

First Amendment Award

“60 Minutes” produced by CBS News

Now in the 52nd season, 60 Minutes is an iconic journalism program which holds the powerful accountable and sheds light on important subjects.

First Amendment Service Award

Robert (Bob) Horner, NBC News

The creator of NBC News Channel, the affiliate feed service for local NBC affiliates and NBC’s international partners, Bob Horner served as President for 27 years and made it possible for countless stories to be shared across the U.S. and the world.

First Amendment Leadership Award

Barbara Maushard, Hearst Television

As Senior Vice President for News, Barbara Maushard has plotted the course for one of America’s most respected local media companies through responsible and impactful journalism.   

First Amendment Clarity Award

Lori Montenegro, Telemundo

A fixture in Washington, D.C. since the early 1990’s, Lori Montenegro is the Washington Bureau Chief for Telemundo and has spent her career reporting on issues in our nation’s capital.

First Amendment Defender Award

Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

At a time when press freedoms and access has been under attack, Sen. Richard Blumenthal from Connecticut has stood tall for the rights of journalists to do their jobs and inform the public.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Steve Andrews, WFLA-TV

The Senior Investigative Reporter at WFLA in Tampa, FL, Steve Andrews has spent the last 35 years uncovering critical stories which has resulted in laws being changed.


Updated on 2020-01-09T04:33:26+00:00, by firstawards.