First Amendment Award



Accepted by Jeff Zucker, President, CNN Worldwide

This award honors an outstanding individual or organization which champions the First Amendment and press freedoms.

First Amendment Service Award

James Goldston
ABC NEWS – James Goldston, President, ABC News (ABC/ Heidi Gutman)

James Goldston, ABC News

This award honors professionals in local or network news who work in an off-air management largely behind-the-scenes capacity.


First Amendment Leadership Award

David Begnaud
David Begnaud CBS News Correspondent, Miami Photo Cr: Timothy Kuratek/CBS ©2016 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved

David Begnaud, CBS News

RTDNF presents this award annually to a business or government leader or other individual who has made a significant contribution to the protection of the First Amendment and freedom of the press.


Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

Shepard SmithShepard Smith, Fox News

RTDNF presents this award annually to a radio or television journalist or news executive who has made a major contribution to the protection of First Amendment freedoms. It is named for the late Broadcasting & Cable senior correspondent Leonard Zeidenberg.

Road Warriors

First Amendment Clarity Award

2018 “Road Warriors” of NBC News

First Amendment Defender Award

Senator Amy Klobuchar

Senator Amy Klobuchar

This award is presented to an individual or organization who takes a public stand in support of press freedom.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dale HansenDale Hansen, WFAA-TV – TEGNA

This award is presented in recognition of distinguished service to journalism and extraordinary courage.


Jamal Khashoggi
Photo Credit: April Brady, POMED

Jamal Khashoggi, The Washington Post

Accepted by Karen Attiah, Editor, Global Opinions








Capital GazetteThe journalists of The Capital Gazette

Accepted by Rick Hutzell, editor

Master of Ceremonies
Pierre Thomas (ABC/Pawel Kaminski)

Pierre Thomas, ABC News

Photos by The Event Photo Group:
Reception  |  Red Carpet  |  Awards  |  Program


Past Year Photos

2018  |  2017  |  2016  |  2015  |2014

2019 Honorees

Updated on 2020-03-06T03:32:12+00:00, by firstawards.