First Amendment Award

Meet the Press with Chuck Todd

This award honors an outstanding individual or organization which champions the First Amendment and press freedoms.


Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

Joe Scarborough and Mika Brzezinski, MSNBC

RTDNF presents this award annually to a radio or television journalist or news executive who has made a major contribution to the protection of First Amendment freedoms. It is named for the late Broadcasting & Cable senior correspondent Leonard Zeidenberg.

 First Amendment Service Award

David Rhodes, CBS News President in Studio 57 at the Broadcast Center, NYC. Photo: John Paul Filo/CBS ©2017 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved.

David Rhodes, CBS News

This award honors professionals in local or network news who work in an off-air management largely behind-the-scenes capacity.

First Amendment Leadership Award

Photograph by Brigitte Lacombe

Gretchen Carlson

RTDNF presents this award annually to a business or government leader or other individual who has made a significant contribution to the protection of the First Amendment and freedom of the press.

Lifetime Achievement Award

ABC NEWS – Robin Roberts (ABC/Heidi Gutman)

Robin Roberts, ABC News

First Amendment Defender Award

Rep. Eric Swalwell

This award is presented to an individual or organization who takes a public stand in support of press freedom.

2018 RTDNF First Amendment Awards

Playlist of  award acceptance remarks 


2018 Honorees

Updated on 2019-03-26T21:09:49+00:00, by firstawards.